Halden in summer. Photo: Halden turist

DigiDecom 2019

Workshop on advanced methods for knowledge management, training and education for nuclear decommissioning.

Thank you to all participants for contributions to DigiDecom2019. We look forward to DigiDecom2020!

In preparation for DigiDecom2020, we would like to ask you to inform us about any major Conference/Workshop scheduled for May 2020 or early June 2020. The 4th annual DigiDecom© is foreseen to be held in Halden and we have already started to arrange a site visit at the Halden Reactor.
It is also foreseen that representatives of the SHARE project (StakeHolder-based Analysis of REsearch for Decommissioning under H2020-NFRP-2018-5 Coordination and Support Action) will join the workshop.


A growing shortage of skilled nuclear decommissioning specialists is foreseen in the upcoming decades, due to the rapidly increasing demand and low supply (resulting from social and political trends). The workshop will bring together a multidisciplinary group representing the professional community working on implementation and oversight of decommissioning for discussing opportunities and lessons learned from innovative methods for knowledge management, training and education in nuclear decommissioning.

PROGRAM (pdf) including workshop 18th of June

The workshop aims at taking advantage of technologies like storytelling, serious games, 3D simulation, digital twin, and virtual/augmented reality allowing the participants to:

  • Demonstrate technology, tools and methods
    Software and tech support will be provided by IFE
    Best demos will be rewarded!
  • Share interesting technical solutions
    Input will be provided for IFE beforehand
    Technical demos will be prepared in groups
    Selected demos will be rewarded!
  • Experience
    • Become immersed in 3D interactive virtual decommissioning sites: explore site, control equipment e.g. robotic/remote equipment, …
    • Be engaged in entertaining stories from our experience through serious gaming
    • Participate in virtual/augmented tour of our facilities

Rewards may include a gift pack, 2-year single-user license for the VRdose® tool (www.ife.no/vrdose), exemption from registration fee…


The workshop is held at Thon Hotel in Halden, Norway.
Information about the venue can be found at the Thon Hotel home page and at Visit Halden.


Early bird registration: 790 Euro, on or before March 15
Advance registration: 990 Euro, between March 16 – May 1
On-site Registration: Not possible

Fee includes Workshop Dinner beverage- and service (June 20), access to conference, scientific sessions and access to conference material.

Accompanying persons are most welcome to join us in Halden.
Accompanying person(s) registration includes tickets for Conference Dinner (95 EUR). Accompanying person(s) may not attend the scientific sessions.

Please fill in and submit the registration form to register.


Please note that a hotel room is automatically booked when you submit the registration form, so please make sure that you enter the correct arrival and departure dates. Possible cancellation or changes should be made by e-mail to katrine.fuglesang@ife.no as soon as possible, and no later than 14 days prior to conference.

1515 NOK (~ 165 EUR) per day in single room on conference days includes lunch, dinner, coffee breaks, bed and breakfast.

Double rooms are available for an additional fee. Please contact Thon Hotel Halden for prices.

Accommodation on the workshop site is guaranteed until May 1 only! After May 1 accommodation on the site will depend on availability of rooms in the hotel.

Abstracts should be submitted by March 15
Authors will be notified by April 15

Maximum one A4 page (12 pt, 25mm margins) abstracts written in English are expected.
Abstracts can be submitted via email to digidecom@ife.no.

  • Organising committee (digidecom@ife.no):
    Katrine Fuglesang, Jannicke Margrethe Neeb, Réka Szőke, Jan Porsmyr, Joachim Bratteli
  • International advisors:
    Gloria Kwong (OECD NEA), Patrick Joseph O’Sullivan (IAEA), Vladimir Michal (IAEA), Ashok Ganesan (IAEA), Oszvald Glöckler (IAEA), Vladan Ljubenov (IAEA), Richard Reid (EPRI), John de Grosbois (indep. consultant)
  • Chairman: István Szőke, Institute for Energy Technology, Norway